Sarawak to set up tribunal to handle strata disputes, says Premier

Posted on 30 Sep 2022
Source of News: The Star

KUCHING: Sarawak will set up a new tribunal to handle strata management disputes between house buyers and developers, says Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.

The Sarawak Premier said this would be a separate body from the existing Housing Purchasers' Claims Tribunal and would deal specifically with strata-titled properties.

"In case there is a dispute between the buyer and developer, the government has agreed to set up the strata management tribunal.

"This will make strata management more smooth because there will be an avenue for disputes to be settled," he said when opening the Sarawak Housing and Real Estate Developers Association (Sheda) property expo here on Friday (Sept 30).

The state's Strata Management Ordinance 2019, Strata (Management and Maintenance) Regulations 2022 and the Strata (Subsidiary Titles) Ordinance 2019 came into effect earlier this year, providing clear regulations for strata management and maintenance.

Among others, strata property developers are required to apply for strata titles for property buyers from the Land and Survey Department with the approved building plans.

The Strata Management Ordinance also provides for the formation of a tribunal to settle disputes.

Abang Johari also said the state's housing deposit assistance scheme would be extended to house buyers with loans from commercial banks.

The scheme provides financial assistance of up to RM10,000 to B40 and M40 house buyers to pay their deposits through Mutiara Mortgage and Credit Sdn Bhd, a subsidiary of the state's Housing Development Corporation.

"The state government has decided that for those who already have loans from commercial banks, we will give them assistance of RM200 a month over 48 months to repay their housing loan," Abang Johari said.

Copyright © 2022 Ministry of Public Health, Housing and Local Government Sarawak
Last Updated On 22 Sep 2023

Operating Hour

Monday - Thursday
8.00am to 1.00pm & 2.00pm to 5.00pm

8.00am to 11.45am & 2.15pm to 5.00pm

Saturday, Sunday & Public Holiday
Counter Closed